proverbs 18:24

there is something about friendship that hits my heart hard. throughout my 18 years of life, i have encountered many different people with many different qualities and attributes that they bring to the table. some of these people have been in my life for a little while, and some have been in my life for a long time, but nonetheless, some of these friendships have been so unhealthy and hurtful.

“There are “friends” who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother.”

this verse, is heavy on my heart. this summer has been one of the hardest summers of my life. not knowing what is coming next due to my relocation to manhattan, kansas for bible college has been hard to handle. it has been a lot of coming to terms with, “oh, i may never see some of these people ever again,” “i have to leave some of my best friends,” and “phew, i get to never see this person again.” but, it has been really hard for me because its been a lot of finding out who my real, true, life long friends will be from the  life i have lived thus far in phoenix.

these past three months were looking pretty bad at first. i felt so unsure of what was going to occur after August 17th, and i didn’t really know what to expect. as time has passed, i have discovered who my “brother like friends” are.

it scares me to death what is going to happen when i leave, but i know that my true friends will be by my side throughout every stage of life. its been weird having to come to terms with the thought of losing people that have played key roles in my life over the past several years, but its super rewarding and helpful knowing that the Lord is weeding out those unhealthy friendship and the ones that aren’t going to advance my growth in my relationship with the Lord.

the Lord’s timing is perfect, and when you aren’t actually watching His plan play out, it is hard to see that at times, but knowing that He is in control is one hundred percent more comforting than me thinking about myself being in control.

so thank you to the friends this summer that have shown me what it is like to be loved, supported, and valued. i have been praying for friends like you for a long time, and the Lord is faithful and has blessed me with you at just the right time that i have needed you. thank you for being my people. thank you for loving me. thank you for being friends of mine. i am so thankful for you.

Leave a Reply

