be still & rest.

The Lord had been trying to teach me something about stillness and rest for a while now, and i haven’t really been able to figure it out until recently.

these past several days have been kind of incredible. The Lord has been moving all along, He always is, but it hasn’t been until recently that my eyes have been so open to it. it has become so apparent and i am so thankful for that.

last sunday, the church service i went to was about rest, which is a hard concept for me to wrap my mind around.  i prayed for the Lord to put someone’s name on my heart, and He did. I will leave the person unnamed. i don’t know this person well at all, my first real life encounter with him was the wednesday before. i could tell by our conversation from that day that his heart was kind of hurting, and the Lord knew just what He was doing when He placed his name on my heart. at first, i didn’t really know what God wanted me to do with his name, but throughout that day, i just kept asking God, “what do you want me to do with this name, Lord?” as the day progressed, the Lord kept revealing super cool things to me. that afternoon, the Lord put Exodus 14:14 on my heart. this verse seems to always be the verse that comes to mind when i am thinking of scripture to tell people or that pops into my head randomly, but i never knew why. so there i was sitting with this name, and Exodus 14:14 on my heart, still asking Him, “Lord, what do you want me to do with these things?” i ended up going to a friends house that evening and we were bible journaling, and painting and talking. she asked me if she gave me a verse, if i could paint her something including it, and i said yes, of course. i then proceeded to ask her which verse and she said, “the one on the wall over there.” i looked over and it read, “the Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14. incredible, right? well then i got to thinking about what God wanted me to know because of that verse. that all i need to do is be still, and rest in Him, and let Him show me what i need to do and what i need to say. later that evening i reached out to the person who God had put on my heart and He spoke through me in ways that are indescribable.

ultimately, through all of this, the Lord is teaching me that when my heart is aligned with His, incredible, unexplainable, unthinkable things occur.

finding rest, and being still provided the opportunity to hear what the Lord is trying to tell you. we live in a crazy, busy, never stopping world, and that makes it incredibly difficult to hear Him which is why its so important that we slow down, and take some time to really tune in to what He is trying to reveal to us.

Leave a Reply

