falling victim to fear

Something that has affected my day to day life is falling victim to fear of not being accepted or being good enough. I face these feelings with my peers, my family, my friends, and even within myself in certain moments.

This is something that I have come to realize being thrown into a new place with new people. I often times find myself cowering at the thought of walking up to someone to talk to them because I feel unworthy of their time and their attention. Although I am very outgoing and friendly (if you know me personally you can vouch that that is a true statement), I do have a bit of social anxiety. I fear rejection, and that affects how I go about  living my life everyday.

It is exhausting, if you know what this is like. It is emotionally tolling to constantly fear being enough for people. It is by no means easy, and it is something that I feel most people feel but are too afraid to admit, or even talk about. Often times I feel lone in this struggle, and goodness do I know that that isn’t true, but let me tell you, it sure feels like its true at times.

Feeling afraid, and feeling as if you have to walk through those fearful moments alone us tough. But by no means are we ever walking alone as believers. God carries us through these times. He walks with us through the fire. He is constant, when nothing else is.

It is so easy to lose sight of the truth about God, and His faithfulness and pursuit of us, though. In a world where intentionality is becoming less and less important, it is easy to lose sight of our unshakable God. But that is why we aren’t supposed to cling to this world. We are supposed to cling to Christ, because He never changes.

This is something that I am walking though right now. Wrestling with falling victim to fear. But in Christ, I am no longer a slave to fear, I am a child of God. Every single day I have to keep telling myself that I have to constantly make the decision to believe that and know what is true about me in Him. It’s not an easy decision to make; not because its hard to believe what God says is true, but Satan is RUTHLESS and will stop at nothing to steal our identity to lessen our effectiveness in the Kingdom of God.

I am no longer a slave to fear, I am a child of God. 

I hope this is as encouraging to you as it has been to me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

