The Great I Am

Today as I sat through our chapel service at school, which I do on a regular basis, every Thursday at 11. Something that I particularly love about chapel, is that I get to come together with my friends, peers, and professors to worship God through prayer, a sermon, music, and offering. It is one of my favorite parts of the week.

This morning particularly, I was moved to tears during worship. This also isn’t necessarily an uncommon experience for me, but today something about it was different than usual. I am in a class called Principles of Christian Worship this semester, and it is such a thought provoking class. I really enjoy it a lot. Earlier this week, in class we were discussing the different names for God, which I have always found incredibly interesting. I love learning about things like that.

As we worshipped this morning, I got captivated by the song, “Great I Am.” I don’t know what it was, but just being able to proclaim that God is the Great I Am. That no one is above Him, that no one else is worthy besides Him. Every single word this morning sent chills through every inch of my body. There is something so powerful about a room full of people proclaiming the greatness of God, let me tell you.

Specifically, the part of the song that goes,

“The mountains shake before You, the demons run and flee, at the mention of Your Name, King of Majesty. There is no power in hell, or any who can stand, before the power and the presence of the Great I Am.”

I’m not even sure that my words could do justice to explain how powerful it is to hear a room full of college students, professors, and staff, that want to worship the Lord, and wholeheartedly find these words to be true, belting these words.

Our God is strong, and He is powerful. Nothing can stand against Him, and He is fighting for us. If that doesn’t comfort you, I don’t know what does.

Following that, an MCC alumni spoke on the second verse of the Lord’s prayer which reads: “Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

This is something that I feel is so important for us to understand, and even more important than just is understanding it, praying it.

The Kingdom of God can be defined as this: The rule and reign of Christ in the hearts and lives of people.

If this is how we define the Kingdom of God, then we must recognize that we make up the Kingdom of God. And we must also recognize that the willow God comes from the heart of God. When we pray the prayer, “thy will be done” we are asking God to rule and reign in our hearts- hence, the Kingdom of God. When pray “thy will be done” we are asking God to align our hearts with His will.

This can be incredibly challenging at times, because it is so easy for us to look at our lives and say, “My will be done.” But typically, whenever I think that my will, or my plans or ways are higher than His, my world is turned upside down. God knows what He is doing in my life, and His will is so much greater than mine, if i would only take more time to pray and be obedient to Him and ask Him for His will to be done.

There has never been a time that the Great I Am has lead me astray in life There has never been a time that I have looked back on God’s will and have said to myself, “Psh, my will was way better than His.”  He KNOWS what is best for us as His children. 

God has chosen the broken and flawed to be the hands that help build His Kingdom. Did you hear that? He has chosen the flawed and broken- thats you. thats me. that is us.

We are His masterpiece. We are His handiwork. He has chosen us to help advance the Kingdom. All we have to do is be willing to pray the prayer, “thy will be done.” 

 

 

Leave a Reply

